History lives in the Glebe - Glebe BIA

History lives in the Glebe

Bounded by historic Ottawa attractions like the Rideau Canal, the Aberdeen Pavilion and Lansdowne Park, the Glebe seamlessly combines the old and the new for a unique Ottawa experience.

A Glebe timeline

1826-1832: The Rideau Canal built to defend Canada against a feared U.S. invasion

1847: Lansdowne Park agricultural exhibition grounds established

1888: Central Canada Exhibition at Lansdowne Park

1889: The Glebe incorporated into Ottawa

1891: First electric streetcars on Bank Street

1895: First Bank Street shops open

1898: Aberdeen Pavilion built

1902-1905: The Ottawa Senators win three consecutive Stanley Cups playing in the Aberdeen Pavilion

1915: Pretoria Bridge built to commemorate British victory, with Canadian help, in the Second Boer War

1939: Ottawa Rough Riders football team wins Grey Cup at Lansdowne Park

1941 Only 152 vacant lots in the Glebe.

1942 Ottawa Ladies College expropriated for war effort, serves as the Glebe Barracks for the Canadian Woman’s Army Corps.

1942 Carleton College begins as evening classes at the old High School of Commerce (west part of Glebe Collegiate).

1945 Population of the Glebe 15,507.

1947 September, Carleton College opens in old site of Ottawa Ladies College on First at Lyon.

 

1951 Glebe population is 13,175, as Capital Ward re-expands into Ottawa South.

1956 Avalon Theatre, remodeled and named The Glebe Theatre, closes.

1957 Church hall built at St. Giles Presbyterian on First.

1958 Southern addition built to Corpus Christi on Lyon.

1959 Carleton becomes a University (Act of 1957)and moves to Rideau Campus.

1959 Church hall built at Glebe United Church on Lyon.

 

1965 The Queensway opens on the old CNR right-of-way, setting the north boundary of The Glebe.

1966 Final addition to Corpus Christie school built.

1966 Final addition to Corpus Christie school built.

1967 Civic Centre is built and north stands at Lansdowne extended.

1969 The Society of Friends takes over Church of the Nazarene at 91 Fourth east of Bank, Formerly Zion Congregational.

 

1971 Glebe United and St. James United merge to become Glebe-St. James United.

1974 The 12 story extension of Abottsford House is built on Holmwood at Bank.

1974 William Teron builds 300 The Driveway, at Patterson Creek.

1974 August, Ontario Municipal Board approved a down-zoning of several blocks between Patterson Creek and Fifth Avenue to prevent further high rise construction.

1975 Population of Glebe falls to 12,146.

1986 97% of Glebe residents of British origin.

1988 Population of the Glebe falls to 10,628 as boarding houses and triplexes are converted back into single family homes.